## Regular Board of Education Meeting

## Tri-County School District 2358

April 20, 2010, 7:00 p.m. Staff Work Room

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Wikstrom at 7:00 p.m. and a quorum was determined. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Members Burkel, Koland, Murray, Olson, Sollund, Swenson, Chair Wikstrom, Superintendent Ruud and Principal Sorgaard were present.

## "We Are Proud"

- Tri-County hosted the Sub-Section 8 Vocal Ensemble contest Tuesday, March 30. Thank you to Mr. Thompson and the many students who helped with concessions and judging sites. Tri-County's vocalists received six superior ratings and one excellent which is an amazing accomplishment. The two mixed ensembles and two girls' ensembles received superiors. The duet with Justin and Adam and the duet with Justin and Justine received superior. Larissa and Mayson Taylor received an excellent on their duet. Congratulations to all who participated in this event.
- Pennies for Patients ranked 55th out of 521 schools this year in the amount raised per student! Way to go everyone!
- We Are Proud of the 13 Tri-County Band students that participated in subsection contests at MCC on Thursday, April 8th. The Percussion Ensemble: Larissa Krantz, Nick Olson, Tanner Knutson, Danielle Budzisewski, Madison Thompson, and Mayson Taylor earned a Superior rating for their piece, "Gavotte", by Acton Ostling. The Saxophone Quartet: Miranda Nygaard, Michaun Pollock, Haley Kujava, and Laura Anderson earned a Superior for their piece, "Jericho", arranged by Paul Yoder. The Clarinet Trio: Megan Krantz, Christy Andersen, and Jacob Kasprowicz earned a Superior and "Best of Site" rating for their piece, "Gavotte" by Martini.
- We Are Proud of the students who participated in the spring productions of "Imperfect Proposal" and "No Body To Murder." A total of twenty-two ambitious students rose to the challenge and persevered in spite of early morning practices. The students did a great job and should be proud! The directors were very pleased with the overall performance of the group. Performance dates were April 9th, 10th and 11th. Students who participated in the spring productions were Larissa Krantz, Joe Stusynski, Christina Knutson, Sarah Murray, Madison Thompson, Aaron Wikstrom, Alex Borowicz, Mallory Krantz, Brenna Koland, Megan Krantz, Maycn Loftstrom, Tony Sang, Mayson Taylor, Michaun Pollock, Haley Kujava, Keegan Krantz, Kelli Amb, Mariah Koland, Michael Thompson, Justin Wojciechowski, Brianna Johnson and Jordan Wikstrom. The directors were Melissa Thompson and Kay Bostrom.
- We are proud of the five 6th grade girls who won the poppy poster contest. Sierra Swenson's poster was chosen as the first place winner and will be entered in state competition. Other winners were Kristi Grzadzielski, McKenzie Thompson, Sabrina Nygaard and Brandy Binstock.

- I am proud of the first graders! All of them are now reading in the AR program.
- Tri-county First Graders raised the most funds for our annual Jump-for-Heart. Brielle Nelson, Grade 1, was the top overall fundraiser. Christopher Bristlin, Grade 2 was second.
- Friday, April 16th the First Grader's will be enjoying the movie "Alvin and the Chipmunks The Squeakwal", along with some popcorn and koolaid.
- We are proud of the Tri-County band members for their effort at entertaining the crowds at the athletic games this year. The high school band did a great job with attendance at every game and many 7th and 8th graders joined in for a nice, full sounding band. It was fun to direct and play with them. In addition, the band did a great job at tournament time. We did a lot of traveling and they were always ready to make the trip. I was exceptionally pleased with all of the band members who traveled to the state tournament. They were very well behaved on the way there, all during the tournament, and on the ride back, and they played their hearts out at the tournament games. I would gladly take a crew like this back to state anytime!

Member Swenson moved, Member Murray seconded to approve the minutes of the March 16, 2010 regular meeting. **UC** 

Member Swenson moved, Member Olson seconded to authorize payment for claims in the following funds. UC

|                   | <u>Last Year</u> | <u>This Year</u> |
|-------------------|------------------|------------------|
| GENERAL           | \$61,396.90      | \$19,388.24      |
| FOOD SERVICE      | 8,756.43         | 9,041.58         |
| COMMUNITY SERVICE | <u>873.05</u>    | <u>13.31</u>     |
| TOTAL             | \$71,026.38      | \$28,443.13      |

Visitors present were Sarah Novacek, Hector Regelado, & Dave Bergeron.

Member Koland moved, Member Murray seconded to approve the agenda as presented. UC

Member Koland moved, Member Swenson seconded to approve Tri-County Schools membership in the Minnesota State High School League for the 2010-11 school year. UC

Member Murray moved, Member Olson seconded to approve Mrs. Heidi Hanson for tenure status after the 2009-10 school year. **UC** 

Member Swenson moved, Member Koland seconded to grant Mrs. Jennifer Klegstad a twelve week maternity leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act. The leave would begin on August 31, 2010.

Principal Sorgaard reported on the following: Advisory Committee Minutes; Board Participants at Commencement; Senior Privileges May 24-27, MCA II Testing Grades 3-11; Textbook Info; FCCLA State Trip Went Well; Genesis Parent Experience; Statewide Tornado Drill April 22; Envirothon April 28; Prom May 1; Elementary Track May 12; HS Spring Concert/Art Show May 13; Elementary Spring Concert May 17; Baccalaureate May 26 at 7:00 p.m.; Commencement May 30 at 1:00 p.m.

| Superintendent Ruud reported on the following: Extra Curricular Activity Fees; Race to the | e Top |
|--|-------|
| Update; MDE Project Update; Bids; State Financial Update                                   |       |

| Board | Rep | ort: |
|-------|-----|------|
|-------|-----|------|

NWRIC: Member Burkel reported on the special ed. audit and that contracts were settled.

Member Koland moved, Member Swenson seconded to adjourn. UC

Respectfully submitted by James Sollund, Clerk \_\_\_\_\_

Next Meeting: May 18 at 8:00 p.m.