Reorganizational and Regular Board of Education Meeting

Tri-County School District 2358 January 20, 2009, 8:00 p.m. Staff Room, Karlstad, MN

The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Ruud at 8:00 p.m. and a quorum was determined. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Members Burkel, Koland, Murray, Olson, Sollund, Swenson, Chair Wikstrom, Superintendent Ruud and Principal Sorgaard were present.

Member Wikstrom was nominated Chairperson by Member Koland. Other nominations: None Superintendent Ruud declared Member Wikstrom duly elected by acclamation.

Member Koland was nominated Vice Chairperson by Member Murray. Other nominations: None Chairperson Wikstrom declared Member Koland duly elected by acclamation.

Member Sollund was nominated Clerk by Member Koland. Other nominations: None Chairperson Wikstrom declared Member Sollund duly elected by acclamation.

Member Olson was nominated Treasurer by Member Sollund. Other nominations: None Chairperson Wikstrom declared Member Olson duly elected by acclamation.

Member Burkel moved, Member Koland seconded to authorize the following committee assignments: **UC**

Board Committee	<u>2009</u>
1). MSHSL	Koland
2). NWRIC	Burkel
3). MREA	Swenson
4). MSBA	Wikstrom
5). Moose Country	Wikstrom
6). Continuing Ed.	Koland
7). Certified Negotiations	Koland, Murray, Sollund
8). Administrative Negotiations	Burkel, Wikstrom
9). Support Staff	Burkel, Wikstrom
10). Building & Grounds	Koland, Sollund, Wikstrom
11). Athletic Boosters	Olson
12). Music Boosters	Olson
13). Drama Boosters	Swenson
14). Advisory Committee	Burkel, Koland, Murray
15). Staff Development	Wikstrom

Member Sollund moved, Member Olson seconded to authorize membership and participation in the following organizations: UC

Minnesota State High School League - MSHSL Northwest Regional Interdistrict Council - RIC Region I -ESV Northwest Service Cooperative - NWSC Minnesota Rural Education Association - MREA Minnesota School Boards Association - MSBA Minnesota Moose Country Telecommunications Project - MOOSE Adult Basic Education Program

Member Koland moved, Member Burkel seconded to set the annual school board members salary at \$100 per meeting for regular meetings, with \$150 and rooms paid for attending the state school board convention, and that members be paid mileage at the negotiated rate, and that members be paid \$75 per day while on school-related business. **UC**

Member Burkel moved, Member Olson seconded to set the regular meetings of the board for the coming year on the following dates and times and that the meet and confer meetings be held as designated (*) prior to the regular meetings or at the request of the staff and that two members audit the bills monthly.

UC

*February 17	8:00 p.m.	Wikstrom/ Burkel
March 17	8:00 p.m.	Koland/ Sollund
*April 21	8:00 p.m.	Olson/ Swenson
May 19	8:00 p.m.	Wikstrom/Burkel
June 16	8:00 p.m.	Olson/ Koland
July 21	8:00 p.m.	Murray/ Swenson
August 18	8:00 p.m.	Sollund/ Burkel
September 15	8:00 p.m.	Murray/ Koland
*October 20	8:00 p.m.	Olson/ Wikstrom
November 17	8:00 p.m.	Swenson/Burkel
*December 15	7:00 p.m.	Murray/ Olson
January 19	8:00 p.m.	Koland/ Sollund

Member Koland moved, Member Sollund seconded (and Steve Murray abstained) to

- designate the North Star News as the Official Newspaper of the district
- designate the Prime Security Bank and the MSBA Liquid Asset Fund as the primary depositories of district funds
- post notices of special meetings on the east front entrance and the south entry
- authorize appropriate investments of school district funds by the superintendent during the course of the year
- continue the use of the signature writer for payment of district obligations. UC

WE ARE PROUD OF...

- We are proud of Mrs. Englund and Mr. Thompson and the elementary students for the wonderful Christmas programs in December. They were a joy to attend.
- We are proud of Jodie Olson and Laurie Lofstrom for the beautiful decorations for the stage for the programs.
- We are proud of the students and staff for the generous donations to the Food Pantry in December.
- We are proud of the 8th grade choir students who attended the Creativity Festival in Bemidji
 on Jan. 8. Megan Borowicz, Haley Kujava, Keegan Krantz, Macyn Lofstrom, April
 Dahlberg, Katey Cieklinski, Mayson Taylor and Jeramiah Gallaway participated in a variety
 of creative arts and science activities and the school can be very proud of their behavior and

good attitudes. Thank you for making this opportunity available to them; there are not a lot of enrichment activities for students this age.

Member Murray moved, Member Koland seconded to approve the agenda as presented. UC

Member Burkel moved, Member Olson seconded to approve the minutes of the December 16, 2008 regular meeting. **UC**

Member Swenson moved, Member Wikstrom seconded to authorize payment for claims in the following funds. **UC**

	<u>Last Year</u>	<u>This Year</u>
GENERAL	\$144,995.89	\$74,354.85
FOOD SERVICE	6,226.23	7,457.58
COMMUNITY SERVICE	<u>255.74</u>	<u>617.36</u>
TOTAL	\$151,477.86	\$82,429.79

Visitor present was Dan Nordine.

Action Items

Member Sollund introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION DIRECTING THE ADMINISTRATION TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REDUCTIONS IN PROGRAMS AND POSITIONS AND REASONS THEREFOR.

WHEREAS, there has been a reduction in student enrollment, and,

WHEREAS, this decrease in student enrollment must include discontinuance of positions and discontinuance or curtailment of programs, and

WHEREAS, a determination must be made as to which teachers' contracts must be terminated and not renewed and which teachers may be placed on unrequested leave of absence without pay or fringe benefits in effecting discontinuance of positions,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. 2358, as follows: That the School Board hereby directs the Superintendent of Schools and administration to consider the discontinuance of programs or positions as a result of reduction in enrollment, make recommendations to the school board for the discontinuance of programs, curtailment of programs, discontinuance of positions or curtailment of positions.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Member Burkel and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Burkel, Swenson, Olson, Koland, Murray, Sollund, and Wikstrom

and the following voted against the same: None

whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Member Burkel moved, Member Koland seconded to accept the letter of resignation from Mr. Bruce Smeby, Math Instructor, as of June 1, 2009. UC

Principal Sorgaard reported on the following: Advisory Committee Meeting – Math books for 7-12 were approved; MCA-II/GRAD Test Schedule; Teacher Workshop January 19; ITV College Classes

Superintendent Ruud reported on the following: School Calendar; MREA, MSBA; NW Regional Development Commission; Negotiations Seminar at TRF; Energy Analysis

Board Report: NW RIC: No Meeting

Member Koland moved, Member Olson seconded to adjourn. UC

Respectfully submitted by James Sollund, Clerk ______

Next Meeting: February 17 at 8:00 p.m.