Canvassing Board Meeting

Tri-County School District 2358

November 9, 2012, 5:00 p.m. Staff Workroom, Karlstad, MN

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chairperson Burkel at 5:00 p.m. and a guorum was determined.

Members Burkel, Koland, Murray, Olson, Sollund and Superintendent Ruud were present.

Visitors: None

Member Kolalnd introduced the following resolution and moved for its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 2358, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 6, 2012, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of <u>1554</u> voters of the district voted at said election on the election of (three) school board members for four year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on January 1 next following the general election as follows:

Four Year Term

Write-ins	<u>47</u>
Maureen Regalado	<u>672</u>
Stephen Murray	<u>728</u>
Jenica Swenson	<u>739</u>

- 3. <u>Jenica Swenson</u>, <u>Stephen Murray</u> and <u>Maureen Regalado</u> having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning January 1, 2013.
- 4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.
- 5. The chair and the clerk are hereby authorized to execute certificates of election on behalf of the school board and Independent School District No. 2358 to the above candidates. After the time for contesting the election has passed, the clerk of the school board is hereby directed to deliver the certificates to the persons entitled thereto personally or by certified mail. The clerk is hereby directed to enclose with the certificate a form of acceptance of office and oath of office.

Respectfully submitted by Mark Koland, Clerk
Member Olson moved, Member Sollund seconded to adjourn. UC
whereupon said motion was declared duly passed and adopted.
and the following voted against the same: None
thereof: Burkel, Olson, Koland, Murray, Sollund
Murray and upon a vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor
The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Board Member